New PM Deuba and Four Ministers Take Oath Of Office

Finance News Politics

Tuesday, July 13, 2021
Newly appointed Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba has taken the oath of office and secrecy along with 4 other Ministers.

President Bhandari made the appointment on Tuesday afternoon, at her official residence in Shital Niwas.

Earlier on Monday, the Supreme Court had ordered his appointment while reinstating the House of Representatives dissolved by his predecessor KP Sharma Oli.

Also, Bal Krishna Khand has been appointed as the Minister for Home Affairs; Janardan Sharma as Minister for Finance, Gyanendra Bahadur Karki as Minister for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs and Pampha Bhusal as Minister for Energy, Water Resources and Irrgiation. Khand and Karki are from Nepali Congress, while Sharma and Bhusal are from the CPN (Maoist Centre).

Leaders from Janata Samjbadi Party Nepal are also expected to be inducted in the new cabinet soon.

Earlier, the oath ceremony, scheduled for 6 pm, was delayed after Deuba expressed his dissatisfaction with the president, saying the article of the Constitution were missing in the statement issued by the President’s office.

The statement was corrected resulting in delay in oath taking process.

Thus, after the short first cabinet meeting the newly appointed Ministers returned home without taking the responsibility of their ministries at night.

They will take in their ministries at 10:30 on Wednesday morning.