No-confidence Motion Filed Against Lumbini Chief Minister for Second Time

अंग्रेजी राजनीति

Sunday, May 9, 2021/Butwal-
Provincial Assembly members from the Nepali Congress, CPN (Maoist Centre), Janata Samajbadi Party Nepal and Rastriya Janamorcha have registered a no-confidence motion against Lumbini Chief Minister Shankar Pokharel.

The provincial members from 4 political parties filed the no-confidence motion on Sunday afternoon.

This is the second time that the such motion has been filed against Pokharel.

Nineteen members of the Nepali Congress, 18 of the Maoist Centre, two of Janata Samajbadi and one of Rastriya Janamorcha have signed the motion.

Kul Prasad KC of Maoist Centre has been recommended as the new chief minister of the province.

This has been done as per Article 188(4) of the constitution.

The Chief Minister had earlier resigned following the registration of the no-confidence motion and later in the evening taken oath of office at his residence despite protest.

The MPs tabling the motion on Sunday again, have been stressing that the chief minister’s re-entry to the post again claiming majority was invalid.

After the resignation of two province assembly members and one member switching parties, the UML has only 38 members now.