Oli Government Inducts JSP-N Thakur Faction, Rajendra Mahato Becomes DPM

अंग्रेजी राजनीति

Friday, June 4, 2021/Kathmandu-
The Oli Government has inducted JSP-N Mahantha Thakur faction, with Rajendra Mahato as the new Deputy Prime Minister and 9 other Ministers.

The cabinet reshuffle took place on Friday evening and new ministers were sworn in at Shital Niwas, with 6 ministers from Prime Minister’s party.

A six-point agreement with Tharuhat-Tharuwan Struggle Committee was signed earlier to address JSP-N’s conditions and the concrete things were planned.

Amid long time rumours of Mahanth Thakur becoming the new PM, Oli has allotted 8 cabinet and 2 state ministries to save his post.

The Government includes, Sharat Singh Bhandari as Minister for Energy, Laxman Lal Karna Minister for Land Reforms, Bimal Srivastav Minister for Labor, Anil Jha Minister for Water Supplies, Uma Shankar Argariya Minister for Youth and Sports, Chanda Chaudhary Minister for Women Children and Social Welfare and Iqbal Miya as Minister for Forest. Meanwhile, Renuka Gurung will be Minister of State for Women Children and Social Welfare and Chandrakanta Chaudhary will be Minister of State for Energy.

Finance Minister and DPM Bishnu Poudel, who has recently brought the budget has been repeated in the new cabinet.

Ministers Ganesh Singh Thagunna, Prem Ale Magar, Padma Aryal and Parvat Gurung are not in the scene.

Seven Ministries were vacant, after Supreme Court’s verdict not to continue Ministers like Home Minister Ram Bahadur Thapa and others after they joined UML quiting their CPN(Maoist Centre) party.

They were sworn in as Ministers for the second time, but failed to be lawmakers as the Maoist Centre had relieved them of their posts.

PM Oli holds the remaining ministries with him.