Simkhada elected new President of Vitof Nepal


KATHMANDU, Aug 01: Dhruba Simkhada has been elected the new President of  Village Tourism Promotion Forum Nepal (Vitof Nepal).

Simkhada grabbed the victory by gaining the difference of 35 votes against Basu Pandey, his close contender following the the election held in Thamel of Kathmandu on Tuesday.

Similarly,Dipak Dahal and Gopal Thapa have been elected first vice president and second vice president, respectively.

Similarly Jasfa Pandey has been elected General Secretary in the executive committee.

There were two panels formed prior to the polls. The first comprised of the left affiliation headed by Pandey, while another was led by Simkhada.

Simkhada contended for a panel comprised of leftist as well as Democrats.

Debi Krishna Rokaya, said to be one of the popular candidate from Mugu, who has been advocating the Rara promotion has also been elected the central member from the election.

Earlier during a program held in the morning before the polls Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation-Rabindra Adhikari said he had taken up the Ministry to encourage and support the tourism entrepreneurs who have been starving to uplift the Nation’s economy through their hadrwork and dedication.

“I shall also not leave those ruining the name of the tourism sector and both reward and punishment will go together,” he added.

Former President of Vitof Nepal Ram Sapkota said that the Vitof day should be acknowledged as the National tourism day.

Sapkota informed that the number of domestic tourists had been increasing in the country stressing that Village tourism development was the simplest way to uplift the economic condition of the people.

Following is the new executive committee:


Mr. Dhurba Simkhada

First Vice President 

Mr. Dipak Dahal

Second Vice President

Mr. Gopal Thapa

General Secretary

Mrs. Jasfa Pandey


Mr. Nava Raj Thapa


Mr. Rajkumar Dhamala

Joint Treasure

Mr. Sakuntala Devkota


Mr. Jeevan Thapaliya

Mr. Devi Krishana Rokaya

Mr. Ram mani Rijal

Mr. Santa Kumar Baniya