Supreme Court Scraps Government’s Decision of Appointing 7 Non-Lawmaker Ministers

अंग्रेजी राजनीति

Thursday, May 20, 2021/Kathmandu-
The Supreme Court has scrapped government’s decision to appoint non-lawmakers as Cabinet Ministers.

The Supreme Court’s decision on Thursday comes following different writ petitions filed against the appointment deeming it unconstitutional.

A single-bench of Chief Justice Cholendra Shumsher Rana had issued the verdict.

With this the second time appointed Ministers of Oli Government Ram Bahadur Thapa, Top Bahadur Rayamajhi, Prabhu Sah, Lekhraj Bhatta, Mani Chandra Thapa, Gaurishankar Chaudhary and Dawa Lama have been removed from their offices.

Also, results of by-poll in which Home Minister Ram Bahadur Thapa had contested again for vacant National Assembly seat will be announced this evening.

Nine lawmakers were absent in the by-poll which was held in Hetauda this afternoon.