West Bengal Poll: Mamata Banerjee to Become Chief Minister for Third Time

अंग्रेजी राजनीति विश्व

Sunday, May 2, 2021
Mamata Banerjee is set to be the chief minister of West Bengal for the third time following the landslide victory.

The incumbent chief minister’s party in India’s West Bengal state has defeated Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s party in state elections amid second phase of Coronavirus pandemic.

Modi has been criticised for focusing on the elections instead of making the pandemic his top priority.

Mamata Banerjee, 66, is set to be the chief minister of West Bengal for the third time after her Trinamool Congress party (TMC) won a two-thirds majority, taking more than 200 seats in the 294-seat state assembly, election commission officials said.

Final countings for certain seats are still under way.

Banerjee is currently India’s only female chief minister.

Despite the defeat, Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) made substantial gains in West Bengal, making it the main opposition party as its tally in the state legislature went to nearly 80 seats from just three seats won in 2016.

Modi’s BJP party is criticized for aggressive campaigning in five state elections amid the pandemic.

On Sunday, India recorded its deadliest day of the coronavirus pandemic yet with 3,689 deaths in the last 24 hours.

Banerjee, a sharp critic of Modi, largely conducted a one-woman campaign to retain power by leading scores of public rallies.

It is a great achievement for Mamata Banerjee because Modi was determined to win Bengal, but it’s clear that his entire political machinery and strategy was unable to defeat, political analysts say.

Supporters of Banerjee were celebrating her victory in Kolkata despite the election commission banning all celebrations because of India’s large number of COVID-19 cases.

Two times term in power as CM, she had a great opportunity to show her performance in the state.

In Assam state, the BJP managed to retain political power. In Tamil Nadu, the DMK – the main regional opposition party – secured victory.

In Kerala state, the ruling Left Democratic Front (LDF) was set to form the government, while the BJP led-alliance won no seats. In the union territory of Puducherry, the All India NR Congress-led alliance was leading in 14 of the 30 assembly seats.